Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Odd One Out
Cover of Odd One Out
Odd One Out
Borrow Borrow
From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It's...
From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It's...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Listen
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It's Us.
    Courtney Cooper and Jupiter Sanchez (Coop & Jupe!) have been next-door neighbors and best friends since they were seven-years-old. She's his partner-in-crime and other half. But lately, Cooper can't ignore he might want something more than friendship from Jupiter.
    When Rae Chin moves to town she can't believe how lucky she is to find Coop and Jupe. Being the new kid is usually synonymous with pariah, but around these two, she finally feels like she belongs. She's so grateful she wants to kiss him...and her.
    Jupiter has always liked girls. But when Rae starts dating Cooper, Jupe realizes that the only girl she ever really imagined by his side was her.
    One story. Three sides. No easy answers.
    AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR
    A BOSTON GLOBE BEST CHILDREN'S BOOK OF 2018
    "Fans of Nic and new readers will find themselves engrossed." -Teen Vogue
    "Declaring yourself—how you would like to be represented and whom you want to love and connect with—is treated with real tenderness." -The New York Times

Excerpts-

  • From the cover I, Courtney Aloysius Cooper IV, Should Be a Very Sad Dude

    I should be devastated or pissed or deflated as I let myself into the house next door and climb the stairs to my best friend's bedroom. I should be crushed that less than a month into my junior year of high school, my latest girlfriend kicked me to the curb like a pair of too-­small shoes.

    It's ridiculous that I have to stop outside the door to get my act together so Best Friend won't get suspicious, isn't it? Rubbing my eyes so the whites look a little red, slumping my shoulders, hanging my head, and poking my bottom lip out just the slightest bit so I look sad . . .

    Best Friend doesn't even look up from her phone when I open the door. Normally I'd be offended since I did all this work pretending sadness, but right now it's a good thing she keeps her eyes fixed to the little screen. She's sitting at her desk, laptop open, in one of those thin-­strapped tank tops—­nothing underneath, mind you, and she's got a good bit more going on up there than most girls our age. She's also wearing really small shorts, and she's not small down bottom, either. In the words of her papi: "All chichis and culo, that girl . . ."

    And I can't not notice. Been trying to ignore her *assets* since they started blooming, if you will, in seventh grade. Largely because I know she would kick me to the curb if she knew I thought of her . . . that way. But anyway, when I see her sitting there with her light brown skin on display like sun-­kissed sand and her hair plopped on top of her head in a messy-­bun thing, my devastated-­dumped-­dude act drops like a bad habit.

    I close my eyes. The image has already seared itself into my memory, but I need to pull myself back together. With my eyes still closed, I cross the room I know better than my own and drop down into the old La-­Z-­Boy that belonged to my dad.

    Despite the squeak of the springs in this chair, she doesn't say a word.

    I crack one eye: no earbuds. There's no way she doesn't realize I'm in here. . . . She smiles at something on her phone, tap-­tap-­tap-­tap-­taps around, and after literally two seconds, there's the ping of an incoming text. She L's-­O-­L.

    I sigh. Loudly. Like, overly loudly.

    Tap-­tap-­tap-­tap-­tap-­tap. "You're back early," she says without looking up.

    "You should put some clothes on, Jupe."

    "Pffft. Last I checked, you're in my domain, peon."

    Typical. "I need to talk to you," I say.

    "So talk."

    Ping! She reads. Chuckles.

    Who the hell is she even talking to?

    I take a deep breath. Wrangle a leash onto the green-­eyed monster bastard raging within. "I can't."

    She glares over her shoulder at me. "Don't be difficult." God.

    Even the stank-­face is a sight to behold. "You're the one being difficult," I say.

    "Oh, well, excuse me for feeling any opposition to you waltzing into my room without knocking and suggesting that I adapt to your uninvited presence." She sets her phone down—­thank God—­faces her computer, and mutters, "Friggin' patriarchy, I swear."

    I smile and glance around the room: the unmade bed and piles of clothes—­dirty stuff on the floor near the closet, clean in a basket at the foot of the bed; the old TV and VHS player she keeps for my sake since she never uses them when I'm not here, or so she says; the photo on the dresser of me, her, my mom, and her dads on vacation in Jamaica six years ago; the small tower of community service and public speaking certificates...

About the Author-

  • NIC STONE was born and raised in a suburb of Atlanta, GA. After graduating from Spelman College, she worked extensively in teen mentoring. Growing up with a wide range of cultures, religions, and backgrounds, Stone brings those diverse voices and stories to her work. Stone lived in Israel for a few years before returning to the US to pen her first novel Dear Martin, which Booklist gave a starred review calling it "Vivid and powerful." Nic currently lives in Atlanta with her husband and two sons.

Reviews-

  • Publisher's Weekly

    August 13, 2018
    In Decatur, Ga., three teens in a complex love triangle navigate a fine line between friendship and romantic love. High-school junior Courtney (“Coop”) can’t deny his physical attraction to his neighbor and female best friend, Jupiter, whom he’s loved for years. She identifies as gay, but she begins to wonder about her feelings for Coop, leading to mixed messages between them. Meanwhile, new student Rae dramatically changes Courtney and Jupiter’s dynamic after befriending them, and she finds herself infatuated with them both. Divided into three sections, each narrated distinctively by one of the three protagonists, the book effectively conveys teen dynamics, early sexual exploration, and feeling left out. Stone (Dear Martin) challenges stereotypical notions of what it means to be straight, bisexual, or gay, showing how sexual identities and desires can be as complicated as the individual human brain. Ages 14–up. Agent: Katherine Dunn, InkWell Management.

  • AudioFile Magazine Narrator Dion Graham's portrayal of Courtney "Coop" Cooper pulls listeners into this portrayal of three teens and their complicated relationship dynamics. Coop, who is straight and cisgender, longs for something more with his best friend, Jupe, but Jupe, a lesbian, is oblivious. Their relationship changes when Rae Chin appears and seems to like both of them. Graham excels at emotion, ably expressing Coop's puzzlement at female behavior. His confusion is mirrored by Kim Mai Guest's depictions of Rae's misunderstandings of her two new friends. Guest's portrayals of Rae and her sister are heartfelt and appealing. Author Stone's delivery does not always differentiate characters, but she more than compensates with a complex, poignant look at adolescent friendship, gender, and sexuality. Her story's ending and author's note will satisfy listeners. E.J.F. � AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
  • OverDrive Listen
    Release date:
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Odd One Out
Odd One Out
Nic Stone
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Odd One Out
Odd One Out
Nic Stone
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close